Adult Programs at MFL

Tales From Poe

Presentation by Steve Anderson Actor/Storyteller, Great Tales Live

 

Saturday, October 18 @ 1 PM

 

Get in spirit of Halloween and hear some spine tingling tales from Edgar Allen Poe.

 

History-Bayeux-Tapestry-008.jpg

Friday History Forum

 

Each month a different historical topic from a different volunteer speaker.

 

Friday, August 22 @ 1 PM

“General Pickett"  by Dr. Gary Grove

 

Friday, September 19th @ 1 PM

“General Custer” by Dr. Sid Copel

 

Friday, October 10th @ 1 PM

"Infantry Jungle Operations of Vietnam" by Andrew Chernak

 

Friday, December 19 @ 1 PM

"Challenge the Deadlock: the Tactical and Technical Innovations of the Great War by Phil Caldwell

 

If you are interested in being a volunteer speaker on any historical topic, please contact Laura at mireference@delcolibraries.org or call the library at 610-566-7828.
 

Derry Minstrels Irish Acoustic Music

Enjoy some live Irish music in the Library while having coffee and treats with your friends and fellow Library patrons.

 

Tuesday, October 28 @ 6:30 PM

Registration required!

Genealogy Research Workshops

Beginner and Intermediate Levels


(Come in the library to make use of the Ancestry.com Library Edition and get help with your research.)



Wed, September 3, 17 @ 10:15 AM
Wed, October 1, 15, 29 @ 10:15 AM
Wed, November 5, 19 @ 10:15 AM
Wed, December 3, 17 @ 10:15 AM

 

Please bring your own laptop if you have one!!

 

Intro to Genealogy

 

Learn how to get started in researching your family history.

 

Tuesday, September 9th @ 6 PM

Tuesday, October 14th @ 6 PM

Tuesday, November 11th @ 6 PM

Tuesday, December 9th @ 6 PM

 

Please bring your own laptop if you have one!!

The Artist's Garden: American Impression and the Garden Movement, 1887-1920

Presentation by the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts

 

Monday, October 27 @ 2 PM

 

 

 

may2_vonnoh.jpg


Movies @ Middletown

 

Million Dollar Arm

Monday, October 20 @ 2 PM

 

Jersey Boys

Monday, November 17 @ 2 PM

 

Tammy

Monday, November 24 @ 2 PM

Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation Lecture Series

 

Colonial Foods

Thursday, October 23 @ 2-3 PM

 

What We Wear

Thursday, November 6 @ 2-3 PM

 

Breadbasket of the World

Friday, November 14 @ 2-3 PM

 

Colonial Clothes2.jpg

Fall Opera Series: an Italian, French and Russian Sampler

“Attila” – Verdi

Thursday, Sept. 11 & 18  @ 12-2 PM

 

“Esclarmonde”- Massenet

Thursday, Sept. 25 & Oct 2  @ 12-2 PM

 

“Prince Igor”-Borodin

Thursday, Oct. 16 & 30  @ 12-2 PM

 

Please feel free to bring a lunch. Hot drinks and light pastries will be served.

 

 

opera-singer.jpg

Book Clubs @ MFL

Reading Cafe Book Club

 

The Absolutist by John Boyne

Thursday, Sept. 25th @ 3:30 PM

 

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

Thursday, October 30 @ 2 PM

 

Hooked on Books Book Club  

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell

Tuesday, September 9 @ 3 PM

 

Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Tuesday, October 14 @ 3 PM

e93c180eaca8b38ee27edabccb799362.jpg

WWI 100th Anniversary Series

 

 "Philadelphia: The World War I Years"

Presentation by Peter Williams

Tuesday, October 21st @ 6:30 PM

 

There will be lecture on each year of the war at each of the participating libraries: Middletown in September, Media on October 11th, Helen Kate Furness on November 8th, and Swarthmore on Decmeber 6th. For more information on these lectures and additonal supplementation programs either visit: website or come into the Library and pick up the series pamphlet. 

 

Let's Talk About It: Muslim Journeys

"Pathways of Faith"

Scholar-led Reading and Discussion Series

This reading and discussion series is open to all adults in the community and will occur this Fall on the following dates:

Saturday, September 6th @ 1 PM 

The Children of Abraham: Judaism, Christianity, Islam by F. E. Peters


Saturday, September 27th @ 1 PM 

Muhammad: A Very Short Introduction by Jonathan A. C. Brown


Saturday, October 25th @ 1 PM 

The Story of the Qur'an: Its History and Place in Muslim Life by Ingrid Mattson


Saturday, November 8th @ 1 PM 

The Art of Hajj by Venetia Porter


Saturday, November 22nd @ 1 PM 

~ Rumi: Poet and Mystic edited and translated by Reynold A. Nicholson

 

The books will be available to borrow from the Middletown Free Library.

 

*** Registration is Required!! ***

To register or for more info contact Laura at 610-566-7828 or email mireference@delcolibraries.org

 

Master Gardeners Series

Winterizing the Garden

Wednesday, October 8 @ 10:30 AM

 

Bulbs

Wednesday, October 22 @ 10:15 AM

 

Butterfly Gardening

Friday , October 24  @  2 PM

 

Growing Herbs

Monday, November 10 @ 2 PM

 

More topics and dates TBA!

 

 

 

yo yos quilt.jpg

Quilting Bee Sessions

 

 

 

Bring your friends and join your fellow Library patrons in quilting to help raise money for the Library.

 

We will host quilting bee sessions every week.

 

No experience needed!

 

Mondays @ 2 PM

and 

Fridays @ 10:30 AM

 

Ages 10 and older.

The Chronicles of YARNia

Join us for a fun afternoon as Michelle Sampson of The Meshed Up Owl Crocheted Creations shows you how to crochet different crafts.

 

Two Sundays a month @ 2-4 PM

Sunday, September 14

Sunday, September 28

Sunday, October 12

Sunday, October 26

 

All skill levels welcomed! If you have one, bring a hook.( "G, H or I" hook)

 

BYO Yarn and Hooks!

 

 

20140306_130921.jpg